Sinful Coffee

So I gave up coffee for a week. Ok so it’s only a week, but here’s what I have learned.

I complained of the idea of giving up coffee, I had every excuse in the bag. But I didn’t plan on giving up coffee. I figured I can let go of something else that wasn’t as abundant in my life. I was on my way to work last Monday morning and I just felt like I didn’t need to stop for coffee that I could make coffee at work. Then, the coffee maker at work was broken! So I sighed and I said a prayer that was so simple. “If it is your will, God, if you really think this will help, let it be done. Amen”

That day I wasn’t stressed, wasn’t even really tired. I turned to water. The next day was the most stressful day of the month. The end of the month. It meant deadlines were sooner, more paperwork. The works. But I still didn’t give up, even after the headaches started rolling in. By the end of the week I realized my ups and my downs throughout the day were because of my continuous crashes of caffeine, not my actual being tired.

It’s like sin, sin can make you feel great but by end of the sin, you will be down seeking your next sin to get involved with. And I know you will be kicking and screaming like a little child of even the idea of giving up some sin, but in the end it’s all worth it. With Gods help it can be done. Even if you don’t think you can live without.

Jesus, the perfect man,died for our sins, so that we may live. But if you are a Christian living in continuous sin, the thing Jesus died for, then how can you embrace God with a fully loving heart? You can’t. How can you live a sinful life if you are suppose to be Christ like? It doesn’t go together. I am not saying you won’t sin because you will and if you say you don’t, you are probably lying and therefore sinning. We are enslaved to sin. Sin gets you no where in life. Embrace God and leave the sin behind.

No matter where you are in life, if you think that God put it on your heart to do it. Then do it give up the sin and Stop complaining.

Leave a comment